Jump to: navigation, search

Women of OpenStack

Welcome to the Women of OpenStack wiki page!

Join the discussion!


Interested in Mentoring?

Check here for more information: https://wiki.openstack.org/wiki/Mentors

Work Group Meeting information

The Women of OpenStack meet every 2 weeks (odd weeks) at 2000 UTC or 1 PM Pacific; 4 PM Eastern - to find your correct time use http://www.worldtimebuddy.com/

Next Meeting Monday, April 17, 2017 2000 UTC Dial In: 1-203-277-8157 or 866-619-0383 Participant: 7217256# Leader 4018#
Current Meeting Etherpad https://etherpad.openstack.org/p/WOS_04_17_17
Meeting Leader and Agenda Tracker - Pls signup to lead an upcoming meeting! https://etherpad.openstack.org/p/WOS_Agenda_Tracker
Archive Meeting Notes https://etherpad.openstack.org/p/WOS_Meeting_Archives

WOO Initiatives

Identified Challenges & Suggested Solutions

Sign up to volunteer here!

(takeaways from the May 2015 Vancouver Summit)

Group Challenge Suggested Next Steps
1 Need more women PTLs and need to support women who want to grow as technical contributors Find ways to support women to be recognized as technical leaders. Example: travel funding for women to attend OpenStack summits
2 Not enough women in the OpenStack community Attract women to the OpenStack community and support them to remain active in the community. Example: mentorship of women to achieve technical leadership roles
3 Women need support and practice to more confidently communicate in meetings or in larger groups Webinar on how to participate more effectively in meetings. Example: role play meeting scenarios, help women gain confidence and practice to ask questions during a Tokyo summit talk
4 Need to support higher inclusion of women in the OpenStack community Workshop to develop leadership soft skills, encourage inclusion, recognize regional gaps in communication, celebrate the successes of women in the OpenStack community
5 Need women leaders to be more visible in the OpenStack main tent sessions Have a woman keynote speaker, more women participate in panel discussions. Support women with speaker training and creating a pipeline of speaking opportunities for them.
6 Need a supportive and interactive environment for women to come together and support one another with the OpenStack community Create a private IRC channel for the Women of OpenStack, opportunities to seek and find mentors more naturally based on technology and areas of interest
7 Need a platform to encourage informal mentoring and networking Reward and recognize mentorship as a key skill that is important as other technical skills


Past & Current WOO Networking Events

Past Speaking Sessions

Portland Summit (April 2013):


Paris Summit (November 2014):


Vancouver Summit (May 2015):


Tokyo Summit (October 2015)


Barcelona Summit (October 2016)

WOO Coverage


Read more about other Projects and Events by Women of OpenStack


Other Women and Diversity Groups


Women of OpenStack Directory

Feel free to add yourself to the list. For your Contact info, use whatever you're most comfortable with— LinkedIn, Launchpad profile page, IRC handle, etc.

Name Contact Role Area(s) of Interest
Poonam Yadav IRC: pyadav
[1]
Technical OpenStack Core projects
Jane Example Stacker IRC: JaneS
LinkedIn
Developer Nova, Neutron
Malini Bhandaru IRC: malini1
LinkedIn
malini dot k dot bhandaru at intel dot com
Architect & Manager - Intel Open Source Technology Center Security, Advanced Network Services, Glance, Keystone
Lana Brindley IRC: loquacities
Docs Core & Rackspace Docs All projects
Anne Gentle IRC: annegentle
Technical Committee, API WG, Docs All projects
Karin Levenstein IRC: KLevenstein Docs Writer (Information Developer)
Rackspace Docs
OpenStack Core projects
Alexandra Settle IRC: asettle
Docs PTL, Docs Writer (Information Developer) OpenStack Core projects
Sayali Lunkad IRC: sayalilunkad
training-guides core training-guides, horizon
Irena Berezovsky IRC: irenab
Architect neutron, nova, SDN, NFV
Rossella Sblendido IRC: rossella_s
Software Engineer Neutron
Shilla Saebi IRC: ShillaSaebi
Twitter
Linkedin
Docs Core/OpenStack Ops Engineer at Comcast All projects
Megan Rossetti IRC: MeganR
Twitter
Linkedin
PM , training-guides, Win the Enterprise All projects
Samta Rangare IRC: sam
srangare at mvista dot com
Software Engineer Neutron, Nova, Ceilometer, Congress
Victoria Martínez de la Cruz IRC: vkmc
LinkedIn
Twitter
Software Developer All projects
Sandhya Dasu IRC: sadasu
LinkedIn
sadasu at cisco dot com
Developer Neutron, NFV
Emily Hugenbruch IRC: ekhugen
LinkedIn
Twitter
Software Engineer Nova, Tempest
Catherine Richardson catherine.richardson@rackspace.com Information Developer
Rackspace DevDocs
Rackspace API documentation
Anne McCormick IRC: annemccormick
LinkedIn
Software Engineer Neutron
Kathy Cacciatore kathyc@openstack.org Consulting Marketing Manager, OpenStack Foundation Enterprise Marketing
Priti Desai priti_desai@symantec.com OpenStack Evangelista OpenStack Doc, Keystone, OSSG
Beth Cohen bfcohen@luthcomputer.com
LinkedIn Profile
Twitter
Cloud Technologist OpenStack Doc, Cloud Architectures
Aysy Anne Duarte IRC: aysyd
LinkedIn
Twitter
Software Engineer INFRA/CI
Nisha Agarwal IRC: Nisha Software Engineer ironic, nova
Summer Long IRCː slong Software Engineer security
Tamara Johnston IRC: TamaraJ
Twitter
LinkedIn
Senior Manager, Cloud Services OpenStack Doc
Val Wanjura IRCː arcee2 Technical Operations Manager All Projects
Amy Marrich IRC: spotz
Twitter
Linux Systems Engineer OSA, Heat, Barbican, Community
Carol Barrett IRC: carolbarrett Data Center Software Planner Community
Shaifali Agrawal IRC: exploreshaifali
LinkedIn
Twitter
Individual Contributor, Software Engineer All Projects
Darla Ahlert IRC: alraddarla
LinkedIn
Software Engineer All Projects
Margaret Chiosi IRC: mchiosi
LinkedIn
Network Architect All Projects
Holly Bazemore IRC: cloudhollyb
Twitter
Linkedin
Director of Elastic Cloud Strategy and Deployments at Comcast All projects
K Rain Leander IRC: leanderthal
Twitter
Linkedin
Software Engineer TripleO
Aimee Ukasick IRC: aimeeU
aimeeu.opensource at gee mail dot com
LinkedIn
Open Source Lead Congress, Tacker, Community; OPNFV projects
Marcela Bonell IRC: mbonell
LinkedIn
Cloud Software Engineer Developer's Experience (First App, SDK's, Heat, Murano, API, Documentation)
Kayla Fromme LinkedIn
AT&T Technical Director All Projects
Kendall Nelson IRC: diablo_rojo
kjnelson@us.ibm.com
Software Engineer Cinder & os-brick
Elise Eiden LinkedIn
Sr. Specialist Applications Developer All Projects
Maria Zlatkova IRC: mzlatkova
LinkedIn
Docs Core/Technical Writer at Mirantis All Projects
Olga Gusarenko IRC: ogusarenko
LinkedIn
Docs Core & Mirantis OpenStack docs OpenStack docs, OpenStack core projects' docs
Oena Logvinova IRC: ologvinova Docs Core & Mirantis OpenStack docs All projects
Anusha Ramineni IRC: ramineni Developer Congress, Ironic, Tempest
Ifat Afek IRC: ifat_afek System Architect at Nokia, Vitrage PTL Vitrage
Khanak Nangia IRC: knangia
Linkedin
Cloud Software Engineer - Intel Security, Syntribos
Nisha Yadav IRC: nishaYadav
LinkedIn: [2]
Twitter: [3]
Independent Contributor Keystone, OpenStack docs, Community