Jump to: navigation, search

Women of OpenStack

Welcome to the Women of OpenStack wiki page!

Join the discussion!


Work Group Meeting information

The Women of OpenStack meet every 2 weeks (odd weeks) at 2000 UTC or 1 PM Pacific; 4 PM Eastern - to find your correct time use http://www.worldtimebuddy.com/

Next Meeting Monday, November 13, 2017 2000 UTC in the #openstack-women channel on Freenode
Current Meeting Etherpad https://etherpad.openstack.org/p/WOS_11_13_17
Meeting Leader and Agenda Tracker - Pls signup to lead an upcoming meeting! https://etherpad.openstack.org/p/WOS_Agenda_Tracker
Archive Meeting Notes https://etherpad.openstack.org/p/WOS_Meeting_Archives

Meeting Ping List (To get a ping in IRC for the meeting) - spotz, diablo_rojo, diablo_rojo_phon, SWDevAngel__, eeiden

WOO Mission Statement

The Women of OpenStack (WOO) strive to increase the diversity of the OpenStack community by overcoming OpenStack's barrier to entry through educational sessions, professional networking, mentorship, social inclusion, and enhanced resource access. WOO recognizes that individuals in minority groups are more likely to have challenges accessing the resources it takes to learn and participate in complex technologies, which is why WOO welcomes all women and their allies who share an interest in OpenStack, open source, and adjacent technologies. These goals are achieved through leading and sponsorship of educational sessions and social events that promote inclusion in the OpenStack Community.

WOO Initiatives

Identified Challenges & Suggested Solutions

Sign up to volunteer here!

(takeaways from the May 2015 Vancouver Summit)

Group Challenge Suggested Next Steps
1 Need more women PTLs and need to support women who want to grow as technical contributors Find ways to support women to be recognized as technical leaders. Example: travel funding for women to attend OpenStack summits
2 Not enough women in the OpenStack community Attract women to the OpenStack community and support them to remain active in the community. Example: mentorship of women to achieve technical leadership roles
3 Women need support and practice to more confidently communicate in meetings or in larger groups Webinar on how to participate more effectively in meetings. Example: role play meeting scenarios, help women gain confidence and practice to ask questions during a Tokyo summit talk
4 Need to support higher inclusion of women in the OpenStack community Workshop to develop leadership soft skills, encourage inclusion, recognize regional gaps in communication, celebrate the successes of women in the OpenStack community
5 Need women leaders to be more visible in the OpenStack main tent sessions Have a woman keynote speaker, more women participate in panel discussions. Support women with speaker training and creating a pipeline of speaking opportunities for them.
6 Need a supportive and interactive environment for women to come together and support one another with the OpenStack community Create a private IRC channel for the Women of OpenStack, opportunities to seek and find mentors more naturally based on technology and areas of interest
7 Need a platform to encourage informal mentoring and networking Reward and recognize mentorship as a key skill that is important as other technical skills

Other Women and Diversity Groups

Interested in Mentoring?

Check here for more information: https://wiki.openstack.org/wiki/Mentors

Women of OpenStack Directory

Feel free to add yourself to the list. Names are arranged in alphabetical order by last name. For your Contact info, use whatever you're most comfortable with— LinkedIn, Launchpad profile page, IRC handle, etc.

Name Contact Role Area(s) of Interest
Jane Example Stacker IRC: JaneS
LinkedIn
Developer Nova, Neutron
Nisha Agarwal IRC: Nisha Software Engineer ironic, nova
Shaifali Agrawal IRC: exploreshaifali
LinkedIn
Twitter
Individual Contributor, Software Engineer All Projects
Ifat Afek IRC: ifat_afek System Architect at Nokia, Vitrage PTL Vitrage
Holly Bazemore IRC: cloudhollyb
Twitter
Linkedin
Director of Elastic Cloud Strategy and Deployments at Comcast All projects
Irena Berezovsky IRC: irenab
Architect neutron, nova, SDN, NFV
Anne Bertucio IRC: annabelleB
Twitter
OpenStack Foundation, Marketing and Certification PWG, Certification, Community
Malini Bhandaru IRC: malini1
LinkedIn
malini dot k dot bhandaru at intel dot com
Architect & Manager - Intel Open Source Technology Center Security, Advanced Network Services, Glance, Keystone
Marcela Bonell IRC: mbonell
LinkedIn
Cloud Software Engineer Developer's Experience (First App, SDK's, Heat, Murano, API, Documentation)
Lana Brindley IRC: loquacities
Docs Core & Rackspace Docs All projects
Kathy Cacciatore kathyc@openstack.org Consulting Marketing Manager, OpenStack Foundation Enterprise Marketing
Margaret Chiosi IRC: mchiosi
LinkedIn
Network Architect All Projects
Beth Cohen bfcohen@luthcomputer.com
LinkedIn Profile
Twitter
Cloud and Networking Technologist Product Manager OpenStack Networking, Massively Distributed Clouds, Doc, Cloud Architectures, NFV
Sandhya Dasu IRC: sadasu
LinkedIn
sadasu at cisco dot com
Developer Neutron, NFV
Victoria Martínez de la Cruz IRC: vkmc
LinkedIn
Twitter
Software Developer All projects
Priti Desai priti_desai@symantec.com OpenStack Evangelista OpenStack Doc, Keystone, OSSG
Aysy Anne Duarte IRC: aysyd
LinkedIn
Twitter
Software Engineer INFRA/CI
Elise Eiden LinkedIn
Developer All Projects
Kayla Fromme LinkedIn
AT&T Technical Director All Projects
Anne Gentle IRC: annegentle
Technical Committee, API WG, Docs All projects
Rocky Grober IRC: rockyg
LinkedIn
Twitter
Open Source Architect and Cloud Technologist Interoperability, Cross Project Collaboration and User Groups
Olga Gusarenko IRC: ogusarenko
LinkedIn
Docs Core & Mirantis OpenStack docs OpenStack docs, OpenStack core projects' docs
Emily Hugenbruch IRC: ekhugen
LinkedIn
Twitter
Software Engineer Nova, Tempest
Tamara Johnston IRC: TamaraJ
Twitter
LinkedIn
Senior Manager, Cloud Services OpenStack Doc
K Rain Leander IRC: leanderthal
Twitter
Linkedin
Software Engineer TripleO
Karin Levenstein IRC: KLevenstein Docs Writer (Information Developer)
Rackspace Docs
OpenStack Core projects
Oena Logvinova IRC: ologvinova Docs Core & Mirantis OpenStack docs All projects
Summer Long IRCː slong Software Engineer security
Sayali Lunkad IRC: sayalilunkad
training-guides core training-guides, horizon
Amy Marrich IRC: spotz
Twitter
OpenStack Course Author OSA, Heat, Barbican, Community, Upstream Institute
Christy Mason IRC: cemason
OpenStack Engineer All projects; support
Anne McCormick IRC: annemccormick
LinkedIn
Software Engineer Neutron
Diane Mueller IRC: dmueller
dmueller@redhat.com
Director, Community Development Red Hat OpenShift, Kubernetes, all things containerized
Lisa-Marie Namphy IRC: SWDevAngel__
LinkedIn
Twitter
Ambassador, SF Bay User Group Organizer, Community Architect Ambassador, Community, AUC, WOO
Kendall Nelson IRC: diablo_rojo
knelson@openstack.org
Upstream Developer Advocate, OpenStack Foundation Cinder, os-brick, upstream-institute, & Storyboard
Allison Price IRC: aprice
Twitter
Marketing Superuser, OpenStack Case Studies, Foundation Marketing & PR
Anusha Ramineni IRC: ramineni Developer Congress, Ironic, Tempest
Samta Rangare IRC: sam
srangare at mvista dot com
Software Engineer Neutron, Nova, Ceilometer, Congress
Catherine Richardson catherine.richardson@rackspace.com Information Developer
Rackspace DevDocs
Rackspace API documentation
Megan Rossetti IRC: MeganR
Twitter
Linkedin
PM , training-guides, Win the Enterprise All projects
Shilla Saebi IRC: ShillaSaebi
Twitter
Linkedin
Docs Core/OpenStack Ops Engineer at Comcast All projects
Rossella Sblendido IRC: rossella_s
Software Engineer Neutron
Alexandra Settle IRC: asettle
Docs PTL, Docs Writer (Information Developer) OpenStack Core projects
Aimee Ukasick IRC: aimeeU
LinkedIn
Open Source Lead Community; Cloud Native; OPNFV
Nisha Yadav IRC: nishaYadav
LinkedIn: [1]
Twitter: [2]
Independent Contributor Keystone, OpenStack docs, Community
Poonam Yadav IRC: pyadav
[3]
Technical OpenStack Core projects
Maria Zlatkova IRC: mzlatkova
LinkedIn
Docs Core/Technical Writer at Mirantis All Projects
Ying Zuo IRC: ying_zuo
LinkedIn: [4]
Twitter: [5]
Developer Horizon, Heat, Keystone
Irena Berezovsky IRC: irenab
LinkedIn
Software Architect Neutron, Kuryr, Dragonflow, SDN, Cloud Native

Past & Current WOO Networking Events

Past Speaking Sessions

Barcelona Summit (October 2016)


Tokyo Summit (October 2015)


Vancouver Summit (May 2015):


Paris Summit (November 2014):


Portland Summit (April 2013):


WOO Coverage


Read more about other Projects and Events by Women of OpenStack